David and Dawn's First Flow Harvest, Southern California, USA

OK guys, I am a total newbie when it comes to video editing. I have never had any formal training - not even a YouTube certificate. :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

However, I wanted to give you an idea of how we went about our first Flow hive harvest. Over 2 days, we extracted about 27lb and 5oz of honey from a total of 4 frames. None of it needed secondary filtering. The total was about 3 US gallons. The water content was 16.5 to 17.5%, depending on which part of the frame was being harvested.

My husband never wants to extract honey any other way. Only Flow frames for him! :smile:

Here is the video:

27 Likes

Hi Dawn, well done. Let me be the first to congratulate you:)

2 Likes

Thank you very much, Jeff and Wilma. You two are my inspiration. :blush:

1 Like

Text book harvest from David and Dawn. Well done.

1 Like

Thanks Dan, much appreciated. :blush:

That honey looks good. Nice colour.
If I were to be so bold as to offer a suggestion.:slightly_smiling_face:
You had a huge number of bees buzzing around and they generally got in the way. I think it was because you inspected the frames and then went on to harvest. Maybe if you did your inspection the day before (that’s what I did) and harvest the next morning. I had no bees up until about the last 1/2 hr when a few did come back. Another bonus is you don’t need to dress up just ordinary work clothes. :male_detective: I think it was @JeffH who told me once he gets lower water content early morning.

Edit: The second day seemed to have very few bees

3 Likes

Fantastic stuff Dawn! Great video too. The typed instructions between shots are gold for those that will extract the first time.