Donating brood frames to a friend

My friend’s hive is in big trouble- few bees, no obvious signs of disease, no queen and evidence of an emergency cell that has not seemed to have been successful in producing a new queen. I have offered to donate a couple of frames of brood from a robust hive (aware of the risks of transferring other things) so the hive can hopefully generate another queen. My question is that I am going to find it hard to put my frames of brood in a nuc without my girls going with them. If my friend puts these in her hive, could the two sets of bees sort out some arrangement or will they just fight and… if my bees outnumbered hers, would my bees become dominant? I’m a bit new to this so some support would be great.

We are hugely disadvantaged by not knowing where you are, @GmcGrace. Perhaps you could update your profile with an approximate location. For example if you are in Australia, my advice would be very different (and more positive) from what is to follow.

If you are in the northern hemisphere - Europe or North America/Canada, I would say your friend’s hive has succumbed to Varroa. There is no point in you wasting frames of brood on a dead hive at this time of year. Your friend needs to start afresh next year (Feb and March are the best months to start with a nuc or package), and monitor carefully for varroa, treating if needed.

If you are in Australia, Varroa is irrelevant, and I need to rethink. Please advise. :blush:

Hi dawn. In southern Australia in a slow warm summer.

1 Like

If there are few bees I’m sorry but I would let them go. The bees will be old and knackered. If you have a good strong hive then make your friend a split. Even two frames is a good split. Two frames of brood a frame of food and two drawn frames and they will be up and running in no time.

4 Likes

Thanks dawn. We will wait. I do have enough for a split. I appreciate your help