Flow Hive users UK 8 or 10 frame Langstroth?

Hi all, I am very new to beekeeping and plan to make a start this spring. I have ordered my first 2 nucs but before placing order for the hives wanted to ask for some help to decide if I should go for the 6 or 7 frame flow supers with 8 or 10 Langstroth system?

Weight wouldn’t be an issue but cost is so ideally I would prefer the 8 frame system. However I am concerned how well do the bees survive winter as there is less honey stored which also acts as insulation.

Also is it difficult to get replacement brood boxes for 8 frame Langstroth in UK?

Thank you all

Hi Elokni,

I am in the UK and have two FlowHive with 8 Frames, I double brood my hive last year. I am planning put the hives in triple brood and see how they coupe with it.

Have you ordered two Nucs’ in Langstroth or National, most people who sell Nuc in the UK sell National there are few who do Langstroth.

Also have you done a course in beekeeping because it would be worth doing one. As you will learn the basic to keeping bees and what is required.

1 Like

Flow sell extra brood boxes in the US, so I would imagine they may do so in the UK too. Just look at the UK web site for Flow Supers and Brood Boxes - Flow Hive US

:blush:

If you have ordered a nucleus on National frames, don’t worry, it is not a big deal to adapt them. :wink:

Bee Equipment sell 8 Frame Brood Boxes, I have bought from them.

Also FlowHive do sell 8 frame brood boxes and you get them in either the Cedar Wood or Laser cut Araucaria brood boxes.

I have seen the Araucaria boxes and are excellent cut easy to put together.

The Araucaria boxes are cheaper than Cedar also if you planning to have two hive, I would utilise FlowHive bundle offer which provides you with smoker, jacket, tool which you would require to buy anyway.

1 Like

Thank you for your advice.

I managed to source local beekeper who is using both National and Lanstroth. So the nucs i have booked are Langstroth.