Hello from Metro Atlanta!

Howdy folks!

I’m from Metro Atlanta and stopping in to say, ‘Hi!’

I’ve been researching beekeeping for about two years now and I’m finally biting the bullet this Spring! If you’re in my general area I’d love to pick your brain, especially if you already have a Flow Hive.

One of my biggest questions is the dimensions on the brood frames for the Hybrid Flow hive. I’m about to place my order for a Nuc and want to make sure everything fits correctly.

Also, If you live in the North GA area, do you have any recommendations for Bee suppliers? I’ve found several and think I’ve chosen one but I want to make sure I’m not missing anybody.

Thanks!
Andy

1 Like

Hey Andy. Welcome.

If you buy a nuc as many of us started with, you just need to ensure they’re langstroth deep frames and they’ll fit perfectly into your brood box.

Good luck!

Thanks @Nathan_Brisbane! That’s what I figured after looking through different threads but just wanted to make sure since I saw some slight variations (by less than 1/4 inch in depth).

If you’re planning to start beekeeping this year I recommend getting your hive in-hand asap and ordering your bees very very soon.

Welcome to the forum!

Thanks @Wizard, I actually ordered my Nuc (overwintered) yesterday for a 4/15 pickup!!!

I just have to bite the bullet on the hive now. I’m honestly back and forth with the Hybrid Flow or a traditional Langstroth and will probably make my final decision over the next couple of days.

1 Like

Hi Andy, a local bee organization, or group would be worth while checking out, in order to gain some local knowledge. Find out what local beekeepers use & recommend. Also ask “why”.

Thanks @JeffH
I found a local group (Metro Atlanta Beekeepers) and they’re actually doing a first year class at the end of this month. There are several speakers and I’ll be able to get a better sense of specifics for my area.

1 Like