Hive strength evaluation for newbies

Hi,
Greetings from West Borneo, right at 0° latitude. :slight_smile:

I’m new to actual bee keeping. Just got my hives for the very first time last Monday. (4 days ago)

Today is the second time looking into the hives. Not as nerve-wracking as the first day. I’m trying to evaluate the hive strength. But I really need help… there’s no local bee keeping community here that I could find.

I have 3 hives but only looking into 1 today.
This is how the frames inside look like at about 2pm.
I have confirmed there was the queen 3 days ago. I also added 1 empty frame on that first inspection session.

What I’ve seen so far is that it’s very crowded but quiet and calm in there, and there’s really not many capped cells… And I’m not to sure if there’s egg laid (are they really really tiny?)

Thanks and Swarm regards,
Anton

4 Likes

Nice one :smirk:

Sooooo your’re on the beequator then…
Yeah I know… And welcome to the forum.

Looks like your frames have a good covering of bees, looks like a good healthy colony. Without shaking the bees off the frames you can’t see the brood however judging by the coating of bees it seems all is well. :+1: Would look better with the other 3 frames in the hive though. I’m assuming you got 5 frame nucs to start which is also good and with all those bees and a good nectar source they will build them out in no time.
Get those other frames in, on the outside of the existing ones and have another look in a couple of weeks.

2 Likes

Beequator

Haha. Like that

We don’t have winter here. Just hot and hotter seasons.

Yes, more frames will be added soon. So if I have to add them on the outside of the existing frames, is it ok to move everything sideways?