How often do you harvest?

How often do you harvest the honey from one hive? How long does it take to bees to fully make it?

I think they already provide answer in the FAQ
[check this link:][1]
[1]: http://www.honeyflow.com/faqs/p/22?tag=23

:smiley:

Cheers! oops, i didnt notice

1 Like

I was always taught Dexter, that there were no silly questions, only silly answers.

Hmmm…
:scratch head:

1 Like

As a chef my most commonly asked question is “How long do I cook it?”. The answer is always the same “Cook it until it’s done.” LOL not a very satisfying answer for the questioner but same is true of bees and honey I suppose.

@AudreyRose Look for fully capped honey on the flow frames as long as it’s capped it is ready to harvest. How long that takes will depend on your bees and your areas nectar flow. The more industrious the bees and the more blooming forage in the area the faster they will fill it up and cap it. Bad weather, pests, diseases, robber bees, wasps etc can all slow down or stop honey production for a time.

2 Likes

@AudreyRose Audrey don’t take all the honey the bees still need to live and that is their pantry so make sure there is plenty of honey for the bees especially going into winter.

1 Like

I was also wondering about that, so thankyou! Will do :smile:

Thanks for your help everyone!

If you ask me as you say As a beekeeper, it is best for harvesters to wait for the bees to collect as much organic honey as they can. It is best if you can wait for the final nectar flow, but at the same time you have to be mindful of waiting too long to harvest. If possible, it is best to remove the honey no later than mid September; two reasons exist for this.

First, when the winter season begins to approach, your bees will begin to consume the honey that they have made during the summer months. If supers are left in the hive for too long, the bees will begin to consume the honey they have made.