Insecticide use

I am a newbie and will be starting my new Flow hive in April. I am more than excited. I have already arranged for there to be no insecticides spared on our lawn. We have had grub control put on our lawn in the past, but the active ingredient in the grub product is Imidacloprid. This is a neonicotinoid that I have been told is “okay” for bees. I am not sure if I believe this and may stop any grub control product. Any opinions? We have also used Seven on plants in our yard. Our roses were attacked by Japanese beetles last year and Seven controlled them quite well. I have read that Seven can also be bad for bees, but I have also read that bees generally ignore red roses and double roses. Any opinion on using Seven on roses? I am an avid landscaper and now will be a beekeeper. As far as I am concerned the bees come first. I would value any opinions.

Brick

Hi Brick,
In the past I have used pyrethrum and white oil in my veggie garden and on shrubs against various pests. Since the arrival of my bees last October I have not used any pesticides and noticed, when I had lice on my corn and okra, they cleared away by themselves. No idea how that happened. Did the bees suck out the lice?
It either is a good year or the bees help the plants somehow to be stronger.
I don’t know if white oil would even affect the bees.
Good luck with your pesticide free environment. It’s surely better for you, and the world.

Welcome and good luck with your new beekeeping adventure!

There has been quite a bit of discussion on this forum regarding neonicotinoids and bees…If you have not yet done so, tap the magnifying glass in the upper right and pop in ‘neonicotinoids’.

After a bit of research on google, I decided I’d stay away from using any of that stuff.

I also learned to watch out for seed that has been impregnated with neonicotinoids too.

Yes. DON’T DO IT!!! Please??? :slight_smile: The manufacturers lie. All the time.