Looking for advice on if I should start beekeeping

Hello Everyone,

I have done some research and wanted to get peoples views before progressing any further with a flowhive.

I love the flow hive idea and have watched them over the years grow as a family, community & company and now thinking about getting one. I have some questions and looking for your help as I’m completely new to this.

1. How much time does it take the setup and get the hive going?
  2. How much time do I need to maintain the bee’s each week/month?
  3. I have bushland behind my house which I will put the bee’s home in which is all green land, not to many flowers, will this be ok or do i need to plant plants for the bee ’s?
  4. Do I need to have someone look after them if i’m on holidays for 4-6 weeks?
  5. Can I have non-stinging bee’s?
  6. What would be the cost of setup after I buy the flow hive?

I don’t have a lot of free time as I have a young family and work at this point in my life, so I would like to consider all my options before I commit to getting a flow hive now or later in the future when I have more time.

I believe it’s important to know everything before jumping in and looking after mother natures families.

thank you and if I have missed anything please let me know.

1 Like

The time it takes to setup & get going can be many hours. I didn’t have a flow hive from the start, however I’m sure it takes a few hours in assembly, preparation & painting/oiling. The hours spent studying bee culture, going to a bee club, finding a mentor, chasing up a colony, etc etc, can involve a lot of time.

After that you may need to allow maybe 4 hours a month.

You will not need to plant anything on your property to help the bees. Maybe just supply a convenient water supply for them.

You probably can work it so that you can go away for 4-6 weeks without involving another beekeeper. However it’s handy to have someone your neighbors can call on if needs be.