Lots of BLACK MOLD on my entry board and wall around entry

Can any one offer advice? I left for the weekend and came back to find an errily quiet hive and entry board was covered with this back goey droppings. Is this mold? Is it poop?

Here is a photo: thumbnail_IMG_0939|240x320

What does the inside look like?

That does look like mold…

I think you should do a brood inspection & take more photos. What’s inside your tray? Errily quiet doesn’t sound good after just one weekend. I’m wondering if your colony absconded.

First of all I want to “THANK” those who have replied. I have never used a Forum before so I was usure of proper protocol. I very much appreciate the input for the bee community. Thank you again.

To answer JeffH’s question:

My tray is full of beautiful golden pollen mixed with typical debris. I am also going to do a full hive inspection today.

i pondered last night that is may be dysentry from the hive feeder I installed about 10days ago? Adding to that… I did a 1:1 ratio which I have learned is too much water for the Fall… that could have exacerbated things??

First of all I want to “THANK” those who have replied. I have never used a Forum before so I was usure of proper protocol. I very much appreciate the input for the bee community. Thank you again.

In response to Chau06’:

My tray is full of beautiful golden pollen mixed with typical debris. I am also going to do a full hive inspection today.

i pondered last night that is may be dysentry from the hive feeder I installed about 10days ago? Adding to that… I did a 1:1 ratio which I have learned is too much water for the Fall… that could have exacerbated things??

Hi Michelle, dysentry looks different to that. I copied this image which shows streaking as a result of dysentry
.image
cheers

1 Like

Keep us posted.