My bear fence, set up and now waiting for bees

Here are my bear fence photos.

1 Like

I think you may not have enough posts to have that permission yet. It looks like you only have a handful of posts yet.

You have the permissions to do this as a ā€œbasicā€ member the upload feature is a line with a, upward facing arrow. It will bring up a dialogue box where you will choose the source file. You can also drag and drop the pic into the message.

1 Like

Thanks for sharing the pics, that is a very nice setup!

2 Likes

I live in black bear countryā€¦ many of my beekeeping neighbors experience bear raids even when they put up chain link fence and electric fence barriers. They still get raided. I have never put up fencing and havenā€™t put up electric wireā€¦ I have been using flashing lights for 11 years and havenā€™t been raided. I have seen black bear on my motion activated game cameras (knock on wood) my luck continuesā€¦ here is my YouTube Video showing what i use:
They are available on Amazon? I have such a hard time getting my fellow bee keepers to even try it! I hope some of you will :slight_smile: https://youtu.be/8JiKdi0NF_8 PREDATOR GUARD

1 Like

Oh thank you, so glad you liked itā€¦ the music is licensed through SmartSound Musicā€¦ they are a royalty free music provider. thanks again!

One member of my Bee Keeping group says he has the answer on how to ā€˜trainā€™ bears to leave your hives alone. take at least one bull clip for each side or mire for long runs. Then place a piece of bacon in the clip, not a large piece just big enough to fill the clip. What this does is create a distraction to the bear. When they approach the hive the smell of bacon makes them curios. swhen they try to sniff or lick the bacon they get stunned and leave.
The bears fur is too thick to really fell the shock of the fence but their tongue or nose will definitely fell the shock.