New bees just up and left

Hi folks

I am new to this. I was given a hive last Christmas and got it prepared by painting with linseed oil and left it for a few weeks, then COVID hit and the place that supplies bees closed down.

I located my hive in the garden facing north east. It is shaded in the mornings and afternoons but sunny during the day.

Last week I bought some bees and followed the instructions for putting them in the hive - early evening, supplied a 50/50 mix of sugar and water.

Three days later the bees have all gone.

I am loathe to go and spend another 170 bucks until I have sense of what went wrong.

Any ideas please?

Was it a package of bees? It maybe the bees didn’t like the oil inside the box. If they didn’t have any brood to hold them there, they probably absconded.

I think you’re better off with a nucleus of 4-5 frames with bees, brood & a young queen. If you had a nuc with at least 3 frames of brood, that brood will be enough to hold the bees.

Sorry to hear of your loss. That’s a bitter pill to swallow.

cheers

@Fish-head3, Duncan yeah sorry for your lose. Can you give some greater description of what your purchase contained, eg number of frames supplied, and what did the frames consist of eg brood (baby bees), honey and pollen. Was the queen an old one or a young one, was she even there. That would help those here on this forum to try and work out what has gone so wrong for you. I TOO am a newbee, and have only had my bees for about a month now, and just (on Wednesday) had my first inspection with the beekeeper whom sold me my bees here too. Chin up, don’t give up, it can only get better for you.:crossed_fingers::crossed_fingers:
Cheers

2 Likes

More info?
Package or nucleus colony? As Jeff says, if there was brood on the frames they should stay however linseed oil can be an irritant. Did you paint the inside of the boxes?
Foundation on the frames? Wax, plastic?
Single box or more?
How did you supply the feed?

Dear Both