Newbie starting from nothing, waiting for bees

I am completely new, got a flow hive classic, and assembled & painted it.

I had bees swarming around my compost pile for a long time (they seem to like the coffee). Then they left… then came back several times. I figured out it was based on the temperature outside. Probably obvious to most, but I’m new at this. In Texas, the weather is a roller coaster this time of year - could be 25F and 78F in the same week.

I read that it’s hard to just attract wild bees to a new hive, but i also saw a video where a guy said to melt beeswax on a wood lid and put lemongrass oil. I tried this before i got my hive in a little wood birdhouse that one of my children made at school and was going to throw away. The bees found it interesting and seemed to play with the wax for a while but then left.

Should i try the beeswax / lemongrass oil on the lid of my flow hive and put it outside? Or just put it outside without that? Or should i just wait for the bees i ordered from an apiary in Austin?
The bees i bought won’t be ready until the end of April, so I’m wondering if can do anything in the meantime. Thanks.

3 Likes

Waiting for your ordered bees is certainly more of a sure thing, if there is such a thing.

You also have to consider that in Austin, you may have bees with Africanized traits that you may need to contend with…

6 Likes

Welcome to the forum Brandon! And congrats on your lovely new Flow hive :star_struck:

I think your best bet is to wait for your ordered bees, since Alok’s caution about Africanized populations in your area. It’s something to read up on and talk to local beeks more about, including @Dawn_SD who has to follow careful protocols to deal with this issue where she lives too.

4 Likes

Hello and welcome to the Flow forum! :blush: