No blossoms around

Last week I brought home our new and first bee family but we seem to not have any blossoms. I am worried the family might starve, how best should I go about feeding them?

get a feeder in door way or place a barrel feeded inside of an empty brood frame box on top of brod box. They will need all the help they can get.

Did you bring home a package of bees that have no honeycombs of their own or an established hive that came with their own resources?

They came with foundation. I am a newbie.

Ok thanks, do you suggest sugar water

yep all they can take for a time.1-1

Is there a recipe for sugar water?

Oops just worked out the 1:1 message thank you cheers

I feed new bees regardless of how they were acquired, eg. swarm, package, nuc. It’s critical for packages and gives swarms and nucs a solid start.

Most of the sugar is used up rapidly making new wax, which is what you want to increase laying space.

I’m opposite; I’ve never fed swarms or nucs and haven’t ever needed to buy packages. However, I’m in beekeeping heaven as far as nectar bearing plants from April through October where some are in beekeeping hell. It is very geographical and can change within 50 miles.

So they came with already drawn honeycombs? If so, have a look and check for open cells of honey. Many times that’s a good indication of incoming nectar. This frame is from April 2nd. In my area of the NE USA, Spring is just getting started and the trees still have no leaves but the frame tells me the bees have found something.

Thank you, it’s so dry here and the forest is not flowering. I’ll place the super on top with a feeding station inside but will check out the brood box first.

1 Like

I haven’t pulled out the panels to inspect yet but will do today it’s been less than a week since I brought the family home. Cheers

Of course you’re opposite, it goes without saying.

1 Like