No honey in the super

Hi team.
I’m from the far south coast of N.S.W. And a recent purchaser of a flow hive.
A wild swarm was placed in the brood box nearly 3 months ago and they got to work building comb straight away, and now the brood box is completely full of comb, brood and looks very healthy.
My problem is although there is an increasing number of bees in the super they appear to be sightseeing only.
I’ve noticed no bees a returning to the hive with pollen for the hive, perhaps the reason is an absence of a lot of pollen.
As a total novice I’m not sure why they are not placing honey stores in the super.
Would love some advice with this problem.

For a new hive I would not be surprised that ther is no honey in the super. They will be using it to build their population, we only get their excess. Also, remember the rule that you don’t rob a first year hive, let it build up before working it.

Cheers
Rob.

You will need to do a brood inspection to make sure that all of the comb on the frames is fully built. Sometimes what you see on top of the frames is different to how it appears. Make sure that the combs have a good % of worker comb & that all of the combs are positioned nicely in the frames with no cross combing. This is assuming that you used all starter strips.

Once your hive has a really good worker population, they will take advantage of any honey flow & quickly fill your honey super for you.

Thanks. That makes a lot of sense. May just leave this season to let it build up.

1 Like

Hey JeffH,
Combs are fully filled but not essentially straight.

1 Like

The other thing that many have found useful is to put some hive wax onto the Flow frames. Some do this by melting wax and painting it on. Others just rub some wax or even burr comb onto the plastic surface. It makes a bit of a mess, but the bees tidy it up. More importantly, it puts hive pheromones and a hive “smell” onto the plastic, encouraging the bees to accept it faster.

1 Like