Package bees - what to expect?

Hi, so I’m a newbie and looking to buy my first package of bees (I’m in Australia).

I’ve seen some places that advertise that they guarantee a pest-free package, and some that don’t. I asked one of the latter whether they do and they said that sometimes a package will contain small hive beetle (though all the other things are only ever spread on the equipment).

I suspect that this may be the case even for the ones that guarantee (though maybe they’ll replace if you do find it)… but thought I should ask first.

What would you expect for a package of bees?

1 Like

We are Lucky in the UK we can have free inspections done on the bees. Mine were inspected the day I collected them. I went 'round with the owner and inspector - it was very useful but also my bees are pretty darn good.

I have counted 15 Verroa from my hives since June, and apart from very low pollen and nectar this year they seem very healthy.

I would go with and inspected NUC, this may save you down the line

1 Like

There can never be an ironclad guarantee, I like packages as the chances of disease are very minimal, they generally come from reputable operators doing this for a living, I have never had any issues with the packages in Australia. Anyone can make up a Nuc and sell it and sometimes disease is transferred on the comb which may lay dormant until the colony is stressed. That said, a Nuc will give a few weeks head start on your hive.

Cool thanks - this sounds good to me.

I’d like to go for Nuc - but I’m not getting my flow hive until December… so I figure I get a package in a brand new super in mid-October and it’ll probably only just be ready to put the flow frame on top by Dec… which works better, I think.

Make sure you get your name down for a Package as there is a large demand this year and if you are going through the Hornsby Beekeeping Supplies then get your gear early as they are running low and the next shipment is a couple of months away.