Total beginner: is this even possible?

I have never kept bees, but I’m interested. We live in an apartment in inner Melbourne. There are plenty of green spaces around (albert park lake, for starters), presumably bees can survive (bees make it to my terrace garden). But I don’t know whether my conditions are possible for bees.

So, can you put a beehive in Melbourne on

• an 8th floor terrace
  • facing west or north (ie outwards from the terrace, not facing towards the doors to the apartment)
  • exposed to south-west winds (we are sheltered from northerly winds, but the southerlies can be fierce and cold. The terrace has a wall around it that’s maybe 1.10m tall, but I’m not sure whether that’s enough shelter for a beehive.
  • exposed to western sun, at least to some extent, in Summer. Could put a hive where it would be partly sheltered by my potted plants. Temperatures in Melbourne max out at about 43 on the occasional day in summer. I don’t know what range bees can handle safely.

Would having a hive on the terrace where my kids play be safe for them? There are lots of plants on the terrace that the bees would presumably find, so they would be flying to and from the hive across the terrace. We could manage a “leave the bees alone” zone of a couple of metres, but I can’t block off say 10m of play space for bees.

If the hive faced west or north I could face it so the bees flying out would quickly leave the terrace and go elsewhere. Do they tend to fly straight out for a while, or what do they do?

Any comments on the feasibility of this would be much appreciated. I keep coming back to curiosity about beekeeping…

Thanks

1 Like

Welcome to the forum. The north facing aspect sounds good. The flight path will predominantly be straight out. You’ll still get some bees in your terrace garden, but most of their forage will be in the trees and gardens within a 5km radius. Shade from the western sun would help in the summer. Roof top and terrace apiaries work very well.