Transferring langstroth brood frames into flo hive 2 brood box ? Can it be done?

Hi there I’m a total newbie I’m off to do a course next week and reading a guide to bees and honey by ted hopper,
and my flo 2 cedar 6 frame hive arrives in a couple of weeks , I’m being kindly given a strong colony in a langstroth deep 8 frame brood box ,
Can I simply transfer the langstroth frames straight into the new brood box on the flow setup ? Will the frames fit ? Newbie question I guess but every day is a school day !

Thanks in advance

You can, and they will if they are Langstroth frames. However, depending on what exactly you have bought, some extra thought may be needed.

1. Did you buy a nucleus or a full hive? If a nucleus (most common), you will need to have 3 empty frames to fill the brood box with 8 frames in total. If you leave big gaps with no frames, the bees will make a mess.
  2. Don’t put the Flow super on (with the plastic frames) until the first box is totally full of food, bees and brood.
  3. If there is a gap at the edge of the brood box when there are 8 frames in there, don’t stuff another frame in to fit the space. Later you will wish you hadn’t. Instead, just push the 8 frames together in the middle of the box, shoulder to shoulder and let them be.
  4. Don’t inspect too often until the hive is well-established. Once every 2 weeks should be fine to start. Once they are strong, every week is good until July, when you can back off again.

Meanwhile, welcome to the Flow forum! :blush:

1 Like

My interpretation is that he/she hasbeen given a full 8 frame hive.

1 Like

Thanks so much , it’s a full colony 8 frames in a langstroth brood box , if I can transfer across to the new flo brood box that’s great , and yes I’ll check every two weeks and only put the super on when it’s the right time , very excited thank you .

Jamie Bruce.

1 Like

Thanks so much for your help , can’t wait to get started .

Jamie Bruce.

1 Like

Great pleasure to help, Jamie.