Urban Beekeeping - Beehive on a 2nd story deck in the city?

I am ASSUMING the answer to my question will be a resounding NO… but wanted to ask.

I’m new to beekeeping and have just ordered a Flow Hive and have ordered Bees to be picked up in April.

I live in a major city on the 2nd floor of a 2 story Condo (only 2 units in the building). I have neighbors on all sides that are roughly 15-20 ft away. I have a 2nd story deck. The person who lives downstairs from me in my 2-story condo has her back-door directly below my deck. The deck is a typical wood construction with 0.5" gaps between the slats. Closest side-walk would be 20 ft away.

I would love to have my flow hive on that deck (no place to put it at ground level)… but its probably just too close to my neighbors… especially the downstairs neighbor. Do you guys agree? Does anyone have similar experiences?

Side Note: I checked, an beekeeping is completely legal in my area without restriction.

Here is a picture of the proposed layout…

Proposed Location would be to the Left side of the 2nd floor deck (as viewed in the photo). Notice the back door in the center below.

1 Like

Does your building have a flat roof by chance that you could put the hive up there?

Joe

Unfortunately… no. its either the 2nd floor deck or nowhere at all (at least at home).

Stephen,
I have a house block in suburbia, my flow is 15ft from sidewalk and 3 feet from my garbage bins that family access every day, and 6ft from neighbours fence, I have two golden retrievers and a garden bench 6ft from hive. No one has been stung accessing bins, no neighbour complaints dogs are happy and bees are well and truly spread out by the time (15ft) they get to side walk. sorry can not help you on the vertical access though.
good luck

1 Like

Jeff,

Thank you, that is helpful.