Video from My Apiary

Sorry the end is short - battery ran out!

6 Likes

to be honest… that lid being crooked on the flowhive would drive me crazy… lol :grin:

I had drones all through last winter which is testament to the available food in my area during that period…

thanks for the video valli… its great to see how others set up :slight_smile:

1 Like

I like seeing your video although between focus going in/out and video bouncing around makes it hard to keep my own focus. Since I am new to this hobby I do appreciate you sharing as it gives me things to look at and be aware of in the near future. Maybe using a tripod around the hive when pulling frames may help?
Keep them coming!!

Although we are all itching to get into our hives, here in the UK, it is still too early to be doing inspections. April is early enough and only then if the weather is settled. There is every chance of a cold snap…and then the propolis seal would be broken. It takes several days for the bees to recover after an inspection. I think it is important to point out that very few beekeepers are opening their hives…as new beekeepers may be misled and it could slow down spring build up or even lose brood. There is little to be gained and lots to lose. In addition…it is easy to see in the video …that there aren’t many bees in the colonies. I would want to see the bees completely covering all the frames and a lot more brood…before doing inspections.

1 Like

Completely agree here. Valli you mentioned in an earlier post that beekeepers should have a plan and a reason for going into their hives what was yours? In my mind there is only one reason to be looking into a hive this early and that’s if you suspect a dead out and you have to close the box up

1 Like