Wax Moth Larvae Killer Sticks. Do they work?

Hi. I’m new to beekeeping and we have wax moth around our area. I thought I would try and be prepared in case I do get a wax moth infestation. I saw on eBay that there are some wax moth sticks available and was wondering if they work and if they would be fine for the bees :thinking The colony I have got is pretty strong and I have only seen a few larvae in the hive. Any help will be much appreciated :wink: :wink:
Here are links to two sites that sell the sticks:

I’ll be interested in other peoples knowledge and experience of the product. I always like to see quantifiable information and I can’ t get that from the links above. Also some products used in USA for was moth control are not permittable in Australia anymore.

I have looked a the advertising. Nowhere does it state what the active ingredient is. I would never put anything unknown into the beehive, as a matter of principle. So thats a no no from me. And even if they did state the ingredient and i verified that it worked as a bee medicine, I would still be wary of buying from ebay.

Apart from that, wax moths should not be a major problem in a healthy hive. If you have moths you should try to build up your bees. Your problem is that you have a weak hive that needs support rather than having wax moths.

Wax moths can do serious damage to stored brood frames outside the hive, but that is a different issue.

1 Like

Hi Jim,
Thanks for replying. The colony seems quite strong at the moment and it might need to be split. Just thought I would see if anyone had used them and if they worked.
Thanks.

Hi Adam,
Thanks for answering. I will try to look into them further if possible.

1 Like

Best to avoid these I think. Looks like they could be made of cedar, which is a known moth repellent, but I’d be skeptical of how effective a few strips of it could be - not to mention being able to get cedar locally instead of from China if I did want to try it for this purpose.