Western Australia Beekeeping Community

Hi …were are certified organic orchardist’s in the Perth hills, we nuture our bees to love our trees…and in return they give us the nectar of the gods…Our plan is to use the flow hives as a top box on each hive…should be fun to have a play. :smile: .

1 Like

Hi Pop. I just began bee keeping in January. Have 2 hives, one at home (suburbia) the other on a 10acre block near serpentine. Want to expand to ten hives but need to find sites. Would you or anyone else know where I can start looking. Just last weekend I got a taste of my bees honey, mmmmm so good.

Hi Guys.

I am new to bee keeping in WA, I wanted to see if either of you would like an extra pair of hands to help out in moving/setting up your hives etc in exchange for learning the ropes?

Give me a shout if your interested ;]

The WAAS is meeting this Wednesday night. I have been to one meet and it was very informative with plenty if experienced keepers willing to share info. Also have field excursions on occasion. Check their website. Coming into winter now so not opening hiveds very much. Do you have any hives?

Hi Azzkeil.

Thanks for the heads up, I take it you mean these guys? - http://waas.org.au/index.html

No hives at this stage, am just trying to educate myself first ;]

It is a good idea to read up a bit first, probably best to wait until it starts to warm up again also. I put my first hive in at the end a Jan and they only just made enough honey to get through winter. Would highly recommend coming along tomorrow night, beginner’s corner starts at 6:45pm

1 Like

Sounds like a good idea, I’ll spin by tomorrow for the beginners corner ;]

With winter starting up I can use the time to study up. Does it take them about 6 months to get up to speed and be self sufficient?