Brood box missing frames

Hi, I am totally new to beekeeping. I have been reading up on it for several months, getting ready to start this spring.

I just bought a Flow Hive from a lady who decided she didn’t want to be a beekeeper. She never used the hive, so it’s in great shape. However, she didn’t have any frames for the brood box. The only things she had are a couple of thin, solid wood panels that hang down, like the brood frames would. Does anyone know what these are for? Does anyone know where I can get the right brood frames for that box? Thanks

Mark

Hi Mark
I reckon you’ll need to post a few photos for this one.
Thanks.

Follower boards?

1 Like

IF it is a genuine Flow it’s a normal langstroth hive so any beekeeping supplier will be able to supply the frames for the brood box.

1 Like

I dare say she may have been trying to save money and hoped the bees would just move into the brood box.
It may sound odd but…….

I’ve just bumped into an old workmates son, who tells me his father had also bought a flow hive system.

To save money he made many mistakes the first being he bought a Chinese set-up.

After assembling it all he placed the empty brood box with the ‘Flowhive’ super on top outside.
He didn’t put anything inside the brood except some honey to entice the bees inside.
After a month he found it riddled with all sorts of insects.

I suggested to learn a bit first.

They do sound like ‘follower boards’ and my bet is that you purchased a fake flow hive. Genuine Flow hives do not come with follower boards but I have seen some poor quality fake flow hives that do. I think they had to use them as the dimensions of their hives were not correct.

Follower boards are used to restrict the size of the brood chamber as the bees build out the frames. You can move the board along as you add more frames.