Buying Nucs from Gumtree Western Australia

Dear Members

I’m a complete newbie to bee-keeping. And I just found out that, due to the Flow Hive, there is a huge backlog of nucs in the Perth Region

So I’m trying my luck on Gumtree.

Anyone with experiences with buying nucs from Gumtree in WA? Please do share as I do not know what relevant questions to ask the seller.

As added info, I’m kinda leaning towards WSP size box

Thank you all :slight_smile:

Hi Aaron, I am based in Sydney but the rules are the same. If buying Nucs off Gumtree:

• Are the bees coming from a reputable breeder or a backyard hobbyist, this is livestock and a breeder should know the lineage or genetic traits of their breed. Ask about the person at your local club, join a Beekeeping facebook group and ask about the seller there too.

• Get an ironclad guarantee that they are free of disease, that is; AFB, EFB, Chalkbrood & Nosema

• The boxes should be a minimum of 5 frames and you want bees on every frame, ask for quality photos of the frames of bees and brood, on pickup perform another inspection or take along an experienced beekeeper to verify you getting what you paid for.

• Make sure she is a young queen, no older than 12months

• Don’t pay more than you should, usually the going price is no higher than $150 sometimes less if you return the box or exchange for new frames with wax.

Hope that helps.

1 Like

Thanks Rod! Great tips for a newbie.

Cheers

1 Like

I know of one very experienced beek in perth who does nucs through gumtree. He normally buys in bred queens for his nucs. So worth asking if they do that.

Cant see his add on gumtree atm though. There are a number of shops that do nucs as well. So try them all… i got lucky last year and the prices were similar.

2 Likes

There was someone on here who had a very bad experience purchasing bees on gumtree, I’ll go back through my activity & see if I can find it as he named the person. I think it was @skeggley…but not 100% sure

3 Likes