Hi from Darwin, NT

Hi everyone - I am just getting started (about to order my Flow Hive - it has taken a little while to find a source of bees in the NT).

I am brand new to bee keeping, so I will probably be a frequent visitor to the forums to start with! Anyone who has any local knowledge that wants to share, I would be very appreciative. I am making my way through the videos and material online, and I realise I have A LOT to learn!

2 Likes

Welcome to the forum, please read and become a regular poster. We are all here to help.

I will be very interested in hearing about your adventures keeping bees in Darwin. Are you in the burbs or out of town on acreage?

I loved my time in the Territory, it is one of my favourite places in Australia.

Welcome, and I am sure that others will welcome you as well.

Iā€™m in the burbs, but we back onto parkland with lots of lakes, trees etc so Iā€™m hoping that will mean a good flow!

First question - what is a reasonable price to pay for a nuc & assistance with a set up? I think the assistance is ongoing for the first month or so? I donā€™t have a lot of options but I also donā€™t want to get completely ripped off?

If you have no choice on supplier and they are offering ongoing inspection and mentoring for a month then the question needs to be turned around. How much are you willing to pay to have someone mentor you? This will come down to your self confidence and how much research you have absorbed.

In Perth 5 frame nucā€™s vary in price but generally go for between $100 - $120 on Facebook and Gumtree, this is a bit of a lottery on what you will get. Buying from the commercial bee providers ensures that you are getting known source queens with good attributes, many of the commercial queens are bred and mated offshore on Rottnest Island.

1 Like

A big welcome to the forum and the forum has great folk happy to pass on info, tips and advice.