Cost of Flow Hives

Greetings to all. I am very new to bee keeping but have been learning the ins and outs from a large commercial beekeeper not to far from me. I have 7 of the flow hives coming that will go into two Lang 10 boxes on his farm. My concern as I am also getting my own hives is the high cost of the flow hive itself. Will the cost go down because at the $400.00 I spent for just seven of these I can buy 2 complete starter sets plus supers. Although I like the idea of how the Flow Hive works and the way it hhelps keep bees from being disturbs a bit, the cost is very intimidating for someone going into the commercial side of honey production. Any thoughts on this would be very much appreciated. I am in the eastern side of Wyoming near both South Dakota and Nebraska.

I think the cost will eventually go down, but the main thing to consider is labor saved/longevity of the flow frames and cost. Let’s say that the flowframes save you about 5 hours of labor each harvest along with the various equipment you won’t need to buy and maintain, and the frames cost $400. Depending on your region you might be looking at 2-5 harvests a year from the frames, I’m going to go with 5 since I live in a pretty high flow area. That’s 25 hours saved at the cost of $400 or $8 an hour, which seems a bit pricey still, but with each successful year that number goes way down. If they last five years then you will have saved 125 hours (give or take) and still only put in $400, meaning each hour saved only cost you $3.20.

If these things last at least 5 years then I personally think the labor saved alone would make them a sound investment, especially since it does not mean buying and cleaning a normal extractor.

3 Likes

I agree with @Titankore about the costs in relation to time and harvesting expenses.
The Flow Frames will be on sale again from Friday, so we will know the price then.