Does honey flow in the UK?

I am new in the Flow community. And after having my Flow hive in the garage for 8 years now, I finally want to start this spring. I live in the UK. And traditional beekeepers here keep telling me, that the Flow supers don’t work in the UK. The honey isn’t runny enough, they say. What are your experiences?

Hello and welcome to the Flow forum! :blush:

There are plenty of beekeepers in the UK with Flow hives who are absolutely successful with them. I haven’t seen them active on this forum recently, but @Paras uses a Flow hive, and @HappyHibee works for Landrover/Jaguar UK and runs their Flow hives very successfully at various locations in the UK:

https://media.jaguarlandrover.com/news/2021/09/jaguar-land-rovers-busy-bees-gather-first-honey-harvest

Traditional beekeepers are often prejudiced against Flow hives, so I suggest you just say that you are using a Langstroth hive. Follow the local recommendations for Langstroth, and then come here to ask us any questions when it is time to put the super on the hive.

You might also consider trying out this group:

1 Like

Hi Jana,

I am based in UK, I have 8 FlowHive and harvested 220kgs last year from them, the bees could have given me another larger amount of honey but I left it for them to winter on.

Do join the FlowHive UK Facebook group, you will certainly find alot of us there.

I do teach beginners & people have the opportunity to buy a Nucleus colony from me after the course. Once you get over the fear of being stung and learn about the bees you will enjoy the skill. Relating the Flowhive Super, I have had no issues for the last 7-8yrs each year have successful harvested a good amount of honey from the hives.

Send me a private message if you need any assistance and I will share you my contact details for you to contact me. I checked your post code and you are about an hour away.