New to bee keeping, Victoria, Australia

Hi all,

I am new to bee keeping and collecting the bees soon.
Are there any bee keepers around Seymour in Victoria? Many thanks!

Amy

2 Likes

A big welcome to the forum Amy, this is a world wide forum but I’m pretty confident someone down your way will be in touch with you.
Cheers

Hi Amy
I’ve found that the North Eastern Apiarist’s Association (of Victoria) https://www.neaa.com.au is an excellent resource. I attended the autumn pack down day in Barjarg in the Strathbogies , but unfortunately was unable to attend the spring inspection event in Swanpool this year. It is a modest annual fee, and the group is welcoming.
Good luck
Kind regards
Michael

1 Like

Hi Amy,
You can do a search up in the top right-hand corner of the page with “seymour” or victoria to see who is in your area :slight_smile:

https://forum.honeyflow.com/search?q=victoria

https://forum.honeyflow.com/search?q=seymour

Hi Amy, I’m new to beekeeping too. Just a little south of Seymour in Melbourne.

How is your hive building up this season?

I installed my nuc in November and it’s building up but I might be over-estimating how long it takes for the colony to expand.

Cheers Ally

2 Likes

It always depends on your local conditions as to how quickly your hive will grow. The only way to tell is by doing inspections.
You are welcome to post your beekeeping journey on here as well as any photos and ask for feedback from our forum members if you are unsure of anything (e.g. when to add your Flow Super) :slight_smile:
It’s also great to have a local beekeeping mentor who can help you find your way around a hive or to join a local bee club for the hands-on experience. :honeybee:

Hopefully, some Victorians respond to you though, as it’s great to share your local experience on the forum so others get involved and learn too :slight_smile:

@cottles @GmcGrace

1 Like

Hey Ally,