New to Bees, Flow Hive 7

Hi, I am new to beekeeping. We have a FlowHive 7, and setup the hive and added bees about a month ago. We have been adding sugar water on a regular basis. The bees are active, but I’d like to check inside the hive. What should I be looking for?

Hi there @eltobin& welcome to the forum! Can you give a few more details about your setup please - was this a package or nucleus colony? One month ago is a very long time not to inspect either way, and you’ll expect a different timeline & outcomes for each.

How is your nectar flow now, and how long does it usually go on before a dearth in your area?

We can help with info and tips here, especially if you can post some pictures, but I suggest finding someone local to rely on for real-time guidance. Have you taken a bee class, joined a club, anything like that?

2 Likes

Hi and welcome to the forum. So you have a hive set up but you have missed out on some basics, you should be doing regular hive inspection to check on the health of the colony and be able to predict what your next move will be. I check all my hives weekly and in a hive a lot can and will change.
You should be looking for capped and uncapped brood in a dense area in the centre of the brood box, you haven’t described the hive layout. Look for honey being stored, capped and uncapped, and the bees being calm as well as anything that does not seem right in what you see and smell.
You should look for a local bee club for hands on experience that you simply can’t get any other way.
Regards

2 Likes

A package was used to start our hive. We have met with a mentor at the beginning, and he provided us with bees. He assisted us with the initial setup. We are going to start attending meetings this month.

2 Likes

A package was used to start our hive. We have met with a mentor at the beginning, and he provided us with bees. He assisted us with the initial setup. We are going to start attending meetings this month.

1 Like