Swarmed and came back with queen outside

Hi this morning our hive swarmed. We are in northern nsw Australia. Then 10 minutes late they seemed to come back to the hive, I walked over and a queen was walking on the roof with the other bees paying no interest to herimage

I’m new to this (10months) and am completely unsure what to do. Any tips would be greatly appreciated

Looks like a strong primary swarm possibly doing some practice swarm or ready for the real thing.

When was the last time you opened the hive? Did you notice any queen cells?

Do you have spare hive-ware to capture? You could lure them into a new box using a frame of brood as bait. Make sure the new queen doesn’t come along.

1 Like

Hi thanks for the reply
We inspected 6 weeks ago , wasn’t aware of any queen cells.
Our intention is to have 1 hive. Perhaps we need another super. From what I’ve read people say you should try and stop a swarm from happening but then others say it’s inevitable? I was wondering why the queen was walking around with no one interested in her. Is she old or tired perhaps. Would she have layed other queen cells before she left.

HI there Vanessa. 6 weeks is a bit too sparse to keep an eye on swarming. At this time of year try to inspect every couple of weeks.

2 Likes

You can’t stop a swarm from happening if the colony has their mind set on it (it’s a colony’s natural response to reproducing). But on the same merit, it’s the responsibility of beekeeping to take measures to take precaution or actions to prevent it.

So we’re supposed to look out for signs of swarming - overcrowing, pollen/honey bound cells resulting in less space for queen to lay, swarm cells etc.

Queens only lay eggs (fertilised or unfertilised) as dictated by the colony and nurse bees. When the colony decides to supersede, swarm or make a queen, they feed the larvae on royal jelly and change the configuration of her cell.