Total And Complete Newbie and Associated Dumb Questions

Hello from Western Kentucky! Long time listener, first-time caller. Coming from the Bluegrass State, there are two things I’ve never owned. A prize-winning stallion in the Kentucky Derby, and a beehive. Got stepped on by a horse once when I was young. Grew up with an innate fear of stinging insects. On the latter… I can count on about three toes the number of bee stings I’ve had in my life. In the past few years, as my interest in mountain biking increased, I started coming face to face with all manner of stinging wasps (Giant European Hornets, Bald-Faced Hornets, and Yellowjackets specifically). And a few wild bee hives. I began to develop a great respect and interest in them, and have now become an amateur entomologist of sorts. I do not fear them now and go so far as to try and protect even Yellowjackets, asshats though they are. But, I bloviate.

For several years I have been thinking about getting into apiculture. I have a close cousin who is deeply invested in it. I live in a prime locale for this, on about three acres of mainly farmland with wooded sections. To this end, I recently purchased a Flow Hive 2. It ships August 2018. So now I feel like the proverbial dog chasing a car. I’ve caught it. Now what? I am just starting to immerse myself with videos and text about beekeeping. I have a special needs son I take care of in my retirement, so getting involved in a local club would be difficult for me at best. I do have a nice bee suit lined up through Honeyflow, and other accouterments.

But I have some basic questions.