Will anti-mosquito treatments be harmful to my bees?

Hi, I am new to beekeeping and we’re really excited about our Flow Hive 2! I am going through a class now with a friend and we’re starting our hives together. Just put the nuc in today when it occurred to me that our mosquito treatments could be harmful to the bees.

My wife and daughter have bad reactions to mosquito bites, so we have our yard sprayed to repel them, typically every three weeks. I checked with the company and they use “bifen i/t, mixed at a rate of 100 gallons of water/ 96oz of bifen. So very diluted. We do not treat any open blooms. Our treatment is not harmful to bees.”

I did a preliminary Google search, and found only two answers, one that said it could hurt bees, and one that said it would not hurt bees. Hoping someone can add some more color.

Thank you for the help!

Bifen is a pyrethroid. Definitely toxic to bees imho :cry:

2 Likes

The bifen does not repel the mosquitoes, it kills them. It also has latent effects that last (more than 3 weeks) but maybe not at that dilution

The bifen kills many other insects too, some beneficial, some not. The mosquito spraying company is unfortunately not a reliable source of information.

Page 5 of epa label sheet:
“ This product is highly toxic to bees exposed to direct treatment or residues on blooming crops or weeds. Do not apply this product or allow it to drift to blooming crops or weeds while bees are actively visiting the treatment area.”

https://www3.epa.gov/pesticides/chem_search/ppls/033270-00033-20150226.pdf

Maybe your technician is more careful than most but the way they spray it, it will assuredly get on flowers and plants that the bees will come into contact with. Also, the bees land on all sorts of surfaces to forage for water. If you really want to continue with the mosquito spraying then you should ask them to come after dusk.