First harvest with the flow hive!

Hi guys,

I hope that I am posting this in the right place on the Forums. I couldnt find a Topic just for photos and videos of harvesting the Flow Hive. Happy to move this to the right place.

Photos
https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10153939596674289.1073741830.694584288&type=1&l=4a999efcda
Video

I know that I put the tubes in the wrong way around and did get some spillage coming out of the screened bottom board, so please guys, make sure you put the round bit on the tubes INSIDE the frames.
I found it quite difficult to turn the lever to open up the cells, so went in by a fifth and turned then waited 5 mins then went in further etc.

The whole thing took just 2 hours for the 2 frames in the middle, and got 5-6 kilos. Its the end of summer here in Melbourne, Australia and i wanted to ensure there was sufficient supplies for winter as it is my first year in this location. The bees did not once visit the back of the hive when we were extracting, even when we didnt cover up the jar and tube.

The honey tasted fantastic, it tasted like it had honeycomb in it but there was nothing but pure honey in it. I was amazed how quickly the bees started uncapping and cleaning up afterwards! The invention wouldnt have worked well if the bees didnt know there was no honey in the capped cells! By the next day, the bees were in there putting wax lining back on the cells again.

The other lesson learnt was that you need to have a stand for the jars, otherwise you will end up with children holding up jars and getting honey all over their hands!

I hope you share your videos and photos!

7 Likes

WOW, Thank you for posting :slight_smile: vary nice PHOTOS

THANK YOU

1 Like

Awesome! Thank you for sharing these :slight_smile:

1 Like

Wonderful I might just pinch your idea of flowing into Your own Jar with label - very nice!

1 Like