New Zealand Flow Keepers

OK - So I’ve ordered my Flow hive, and my beekeeper’s suit. And one day it will all arrive and be installed among the trees and flowers of my Waiheke back garden. But then comes the tricky bit… getting bees.

If you’re in NZ, and new to the whole bee thing, then let’s chat. I’ve been talking about keeping bees for years, but always afraid of not knowing where to begin, supers, and hive tools and all of that. But as soon as I saw the Flow hive, I knew that the excuses were over.

I guess my next move would be to contact local beekeepers and start talking to them about swarms, but as a complete newby (new bee?) I’m afraid of sounding stoopid, so I’d be keen to start the conversation here.

1 Like

We are working on setting up a directory of bee clubs. Hopefully we will have the click-able maps up and running over the next few weeks. If you find a local club let them know about the directory, if they are interested in growing their club. Hopefully this forum and our members directory as it evolves will help people connect and form new clubs too

http://community.honeyflow.com/

1 Like

Hi Rando,
We are moving to Wellington in January next year from Australia and we will be taking our newly delivered Flow hive with us. Like you the Flow hive simply meant it was time to commit to beekeeping. I will be researching local bee clubs and bee keepers carefully to avoid clashes with anti-Flow types.
I have a strong interest in organic and treatment-free methods. I imagine those sorts of bee keepers are going to be even tougher to find.
Good luck with your new hobby.
Paul

Hi mate, we’re in exactly the same position as you. Used to live on Waiheke now in the Warkworth area. The first steps (after the flow hive order) was to buy the book ‘Practical Beekeeping in New Zealand’ (recommended by a longtime friend beekeeper in the city) and starting reading it … Looking forward staying in touch.